National Indigenous Fashion Awards nominees named

Nominees for this year’s Nationwide Indigenous Vogue Awards (NIFA) have been declared.

Introduced in 2020, the award recognises Initial Nations designers from city, regional and some of the farthest-reaching distant parts of Australia. The party offers a system for innovation, diversity and moral techniques for Very first Nations designers in fashion and textile.

The party is supported by The Darwin Aboriginal Artwork Good Foundation’s (DAAFF) Indigenous Vogue Assignments (IFP) along with the Northern Territory Government (NTG).

DAAFF inventive director and Eastern Arrernte visible artist, Shilo McNamee, reported NIFA provides a “unique opportunity” for the residence-developed and international style community to hook up to the world’s oldest living cultures.

“The NIFA recognises excellence across several award classes and provides possibilities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander creatives to gain focus and obtain mentoring guidance, so they can not only establish capability but prosper in the business,” said McNamee.

The award winner will also receive a 12-month mentorship with Country Street supplying them obtain to in-depth insights into the brand’s organization functions.

The final night of the photoshoot get together, Linda Puna from Mimili Maku Arts collaboration with Unreal Fur. Picture: Meg Hansen.

Fabia Pryor, brand group and effects manager at State Road, said the program is “tailored” by the winner and will contain parts in item improvement, top quality management, lawful, advertising and sustainability.

Winners will be declared throughout a ceremony on August 3 in Larrakia Nation. A ‘Country to Couture’ runway will also acquire location on August 2 adopted by the Darwin Aboriginal Art Honest from August 5-7.

The next are the award classes and their nominees:

  • Regular Adornment Award
  • Cassie Leatham, Yanggurdi – Wild Blak Arts
  • Esther Yarllarlla
  • Local community Collaboration Award
  • Mimili Maku Arts, Linda Puna x Unreal Fur
  • Djunngaal, Yarrabah Arts and Cultural Centre x Francoise Lane
  • Enterprise Achievement Award
  • Simone Arnol and Bernard Singleton (collaboration) – Prohibit
  • Laura Thompson – Apparel The Gaps
  • Denni Francisco – Ngali x Warmum Art
  • Nagula Jarndu
  • Bábbarra Layouts
  • Textile Style Award
  • Philomena Yeatman – Yarrabah Arts & Cultural Precinct
  • Briana Enoch – Jirawee
  • Lillardia Briggs-Housten – Ngarru Miimi
  • Eunice Napanangka Jack – Ikuntji Artists
  • Mavis Marks – Ikuntji Artists
  • Roseranna Larry – Ikuntji Artists
  • Wearable Art Award
  • Irene Robinson
  • Lillardia Briggs-Housten – Ngarru Miimi
  • Paul McCann
  • Mylene Holroyd
  • Trend Designer Award
  • Cheryl Creed – Murrii Quu Couture
  • Briana Enoch – Jirawee
  • Denni Francisco – Ngali x Warmun Artwork Centre